Song number two of the album: Miles Away. One of my personal favorites. Super catchy choruses and that ludicrously fast shred solo by Johnny in the middle. Y’all just wait. It’s nuts. But for now, let’s get into the lyrics of the song.

Miles Away

If I could only reach you
If I could only fight my way uphill
If I could only plant this seed in mind
That would let you find the will

I’m trying still
And I’ll be here until

These walls are falling
And I will stay
Until they’re all away
Miles away

Standby, awaiting signals
I’m reading into every word that you speak
However little hopeful
Resignations are only for the weak

Not there for me
Until the day I see

These walls are falling
And I will stay
Until they’re all away
Can you hear me calling
Or are these words I hear only a ricochet
From miles away

You’re miles away

And I am trying still
So I’ll be here until

These walls are falling
And I will stay
Until they’re all away
Can you hear me calling
Or are these words I hear only a ricochet
From miles away

So, this is actually me trying to write my own version of the song ‘Breakthru’ by Queen. I love that song and the lyrics. You like someone, you want them to notice you but you can’t seem to reach them. Pretty straightforward stuff, really. Check out the lyrics to ‘Breakthru’ here.
Freddy focused more on his feelings for that certain person. I focused more on the struggle. How totally true metal of me, haha! But seriously, I always envy those artists who can write a song with such simple sincerity, without it becoming too mushy or cheesy. Freddy was an unparalleled genius and this my little ode to him,… By totally ripping off his idea for a song.

The working title for this song was originally ‘Stay’. As a reference to this I used that word in the chorus in a place that focuses a lot of attention to it. It’s a little inside joke for those very few people that knew the song from before I joined the band.

Speaking of working titles,… the next time I’ll discuss a song originally titled ‘Mark’!

-Steven

