Okay, so here we go: The first of my lyric posts. Our upcoming album will feature 11 tracks, so I’ll be doing this once or twice a month until the album is finished. I’ll post the lyrics to a song, and then explain what the song is about and maybe point out some of the little jokes or references that I put in there.  Of course any lyric is open to different interpretations, and I have no intention of taking that magic away from anybody. Over time a song creates a life of its own, and sometimes the meanings can change, even for me. This is just the way I wrote it.
Breathe to aspire

I speak my name, introductions aside
I want to get right down to business
Inflamed, with no dreams fulfilled
So can I get a witness?

No one restrains me
So far I’ve been delayed
Clenching my fists as I brawl through the fray

So many times that I have lost
I’m losing track of all the costs
Still I remind myself of this, because…

No matter how many nights I have known
This is a new adventure
If once again I strike out on my own
I will live a new day

Breathe to aspire

I’ll claim my space
Fill my lungs full of air
And then exhale determination
No trace of any battle fatigue
That might have crumbled this foundation

A million times I might have lost
And I am still here now because,…

No matter how many nights I have known
This is a new adventure
If once again I strike out on my own
I will live a new day

What if this won’t improve? What will it move towards?
No one holds all the cards, decides which way to move
Just breathe

Breathe to aspire to breathe to aspire to breathe…

So many times that I have lost
I’m losing track of all the costs
Still I remind myself of this, because…

No matter how many nights I have known
This is a new adventure
If once again I strike out on my own
I will live a new day

No matter how many nights I have known
This is a new adventure
If once again I strike out on my own
I will live as long as I -breathe to aspire

This song was the first I ever wrote for Selfmachine. It was one of the two tracks that Mark had sent to me to use in my audition for the band. I remember wanting to write something powerful and genuine, without having to dig too deep and pour out all kind of personal stuff to a band I might not even be part of. The main thought behind this song is: Whenever you lose something in your life, whether it’s a band, a relationship, a job or whatever, it is not the end of the world as long as you keep on breathing, keep on living and move on to the next level. You’re never beaten unless you give up. And every new adventure brings exciting new challenges. In my case, the challenge ahead was auditioning for this great new band. The first verse especially describes the exact situation I was in when I first sang these lyrics. It was custom made for the occasion and a totally meta experience.

And hey,… I guess it worked!

-Steven

